Illustrated Religious Instruction

Nicolas Talon (1605–1691).
Les peintures chrestiennes: divisées en deux parties.
Paris: Sebastien and Gabriel Cramoisy, 1647.

Ninety-five engravings illustrate the first edition of this work by the Jesuit historian and author Nicolas Talon. Included are images of the Ten Commandments, the Seven Deadly Sins, the Beatitudes, and the Sacraments, as well as the essential Christian doctrine of the conception, birth, death, resurrection, and ascension of Jesus Christ. In this scene representing the fourth commandment, an angel accompanies a reverential child, while in the background a demon aids a wicked child driving his parents out of the house with a stick.

Christian Instruction
Illustrated Religious Instruction