Browse Exhibits (2 total)

The Archives at Bridwell Library


Originally exhibited February 1, 2017–June 30, 2017
The Elizabeth Perkins Prothro Galleries


Archives are groups of historical records documenting the activities of organizations and the lives of individuals. Archives are also the repositories that house such records. Bridwell Library is an archive of many archives where researchers may access more than half a mile of archival materials documenting the history of the Methodist movement.

The historical records owned by Bridwell Library comprise three closely-related archives: the Perkins School of Theology Archive, the Bridwell Library Archive, and the Methodist Studies Archive. Additionally, four United Methodist bodies lodge their archival materials at Bridwell Library in order to enhance both preservation and access. The archivists of the South Central Jurisdiction, the North Texas Annual Conference, the Rio Grande Annual Conference, and the Texas United Methodist Historical Society work closely with the archivist of Bridwell Library to manage the most extensive set of Methodist-related primary resources in the Southwestern United States.

The archival program at Bridwell Library serves the historical research community by collecting, preserving, arranging, and describing historical records; promoting awareness and facilitating use of the archival collections; assisting researchers in person and remotely; curating exhibitions; and making presentations to university classes and outside groups. This exhibition explores the diversity of archival records held by and hosted by Bridwell Library.

, , , , , , , ,

The Kate Warnick Awards


Originally exhibited December 12, 2014 – April 24, 2015
Entry Hall


The Texas United Methodist Historical Society established the Kate Warnick Awards in 1978 to honor Marion Katherine (“Kate”) Warnick’s long career of dedicated service to Southern Methodist University and her keen interest in documenting United Methodist history. This annual awards competition encourages the publication of exemplary local church histories within the eight Annual Conferences of the United Methodist Church that constitute the Texas United Methodist Historical Society: Central Texas, New Mexico, North Texas, Northwest Texas, Oklahoma Indian Mission, Rio Grande, Southwest Texas, and Texas. On exhibition are fourteen winning entries representing the competition’s five decades.

, , , , , ,